January 12, 2014

MB's Project365 TWENTY FOURTEEN

069

My Project365 photo for today was prompted by the water emergency in southern West Virginia, an area I used to call home…………

“Water, water everywhere, nor any drop to drink.”  This quote from Samuel Taylor Coleridge’s, “The Rime of the Ancient Mariner” speaks volumes to those affected by the water crisis in the Charleston, West Virginia area.   The Kanawha Valley, or Chemical Valley, as it is sometimes called, was my home for two years when I taught in the Boone County School system.   Since I was used to life in the suburbs of Pittsburgh, I chose to make my home in Marmet, as opposed to one of the small hamlets in Boone County.  Marmet, while not equivalent to the suburbs I was used to, was the closest thing to life as I knew it.  Its location on the banks of the Kanawha River just downstream from a number of…

View original post 194 more words

Leave a Reply

